Pepper spray in California is legal with restrictions...
Section 12403.7 says the following: "**any person may purchase, possess or use tear gas and tear gas weapons for the projection or release of tear gas if the tear gas and tear gas weapons are used solely for self-defense purposes**". Tear gas is synonymous with pepper spray in this penal code. Regulations include: selling to a minor, which in California is the age of 17 or younger. The following scenarios are classified under misuse and may land you up to three years in prison and a $1,000 fine. Scenarios classified under misuse: Using tear gas as a joke, deploying it in anger, the device is used by drug addicts, or convicted felons.
To sum it up... You may purchase any of the pepper sprays or tear gases from us as long as: You are at least 18 years old, you use it for self defense only, and you're not a convicted felon.
See a list of commonly bought products by people in California below: